Skip to main content

Under what circumstances will my account be closed?

Your account may be closed if you do not transfer and close your account before the program is phased out. Prior to closing your myRA, myRA customer support will contact you so that you have the opportunity to provide instructions for the transfer of the account balance to a private-sector Roth IRA.

myRA will also close your account if:

Your account balance is $0.

You pass away, after your beneficiaries or your estate provides instructions on how the balance should be distributed.

myRA may close accounts for fraud, misuse, or other criminal activity, or as required by law.